Nineteen players on Twins HOF ballot

Nineteen players on Twins HOF ballot

MINNEAPOLIS -- The ultimate honor for any athlete is to earn induction into a Hall of Fame.

And for former Twins, that includes getting inducted into the organization's Hall of Fame, which honors the players, coaches and off-field personnel who have greatly impacted the ballclub since it moved to Minnesota in 1961.

A total of 19 former players will have a chance to join that prestigious group, as they are on the ballot for the 2009 class of the Twins Hall of Fame.

Voting for the Twins Hall of Fame is conducted by a 57-member committee which includes local and national baseball writers, Twins broadcasters, Twins Hall of Fame members, local TV and radio members, and select Twins front-office personnel.

Fans also have a chance to voice their say in who should be inducted in this year's class by submitting their own ballot online.

Online voting for fans begins Monday, Dec. 1, and concludes on Monday, Jan. 5. Fans can vote for up to 5 players each time they submit a ballot.

After all the votes from the committee and the fans are tallied, the top vote-getter will be inducted as part of the '09 Twins Hall of Fame class. If a second candidate receives 75 percent of the vote, then two candidates will make up the class.

To be considered for the Twins Hall of Fame, a player must have a service time of three seasons and be retired from Major League Baseball for two years.

The Twins Hall of Fame was created in 2000 as part of the club's 40th season celebration. The inaugural class of the Twins Hall of Fame was inducted on Aug. 12, 2000, and included Harmon Killebrew, Rod Carew, Tony Oliva, Kent Hrbek, Kirby Puckett and Calvin Griffith.

Since then, 13 other members have been inducted into the Twins Hall of Fame: Herb Carneal and Jim Kaat ('01), Bert Blyleven and Tom Kelly ('02), Bob Casey and Bob Allison ('03), Earl Battey ('04), Carl Pohlad and Frank Viola ('05), Zoilo Versalles ('06), Gary Gaetti and Jim Rantz ('07) and Rick Aguilera ('08).

In addition to the player ballot this year, a separate Veterans Committee vote will determine a non-uniformed inductee. The Veterans Committee was formed in 2005 and selects a candidate to be inducted during odd-numbered years.

The '09 Twins Hall of Fame class will be announced in conjunction with TwinsFest, which is scheduled for Jan. 23-25, 2009. A ceremony for the inductees of the '09 class will then be held during the upcoming season at the Metrodome.

Here are the nominees for the 2009 Player Ballot:

Dave Boswell, P (1964-70)
The youngest Twins player to appear in a World Series (20 yrs old in '65), Boswell was third in the AL in wins (20) in '69.

Tom Brunansky, OF (1982-88)
Eighth on the all-time home run list for the Twins (163), Brunansky had 829 hits with the ballclub and hit .412 with nine RBIs in the '87 ALCS.

John Castino, INF (1979-84)
The '79 AL co-Rookie of the Year, Castino had his best season in 1980 when he batted .302 with 13 homers and 64 RBIs.

Marty Cordova, OF (1995-99) Greg Gagne, SS (1983-92)
The shortstop on the '87 and '91 World Series Twins teams, Gagne is 11th on the Twins all-time list in games (1,140) and 12th in stolen bases (79).

Dan Gladden, OF (1987-91)
An outfielder on the '87 and '91 World Series teams, Gladden hit .279 in 24 postseason games and ranks sixth all-time in stolen bases (116).

Dave Goltz, P (1972-79)
A Minnesota native, Goltz won 96 games and posted a 3.48 ERA in eight seasons with the Twins -- including a 20-win season in '77.

Mudcat Grant, P (1964-67)
A two-game winner in the '65 World Series, Grant held a record of 50-35 in his three-plus years with the Twins.

Brian Harper, C (1988-93)
Second on the Twins all-time list for catcher's batting average at .306 (min. 2000 AB), Harper hit .333 in 12 postseason at-bats in '91.

Larry Hisle, OF (1973-77)
An AL All-Star in 1977 while leading the league in RBIs (119), Hisle is one of only eight Twins to hit for the cycle (7/4/76)

Chuck Knoblauch, 2B (1991-97)
A four-time All-Star and the AL Rookie of the Year in 1991, Knoblauch is the Twins' all-time stolen-base leader (276).

Camilo Pascual, P (1961-66)
Second on the Twins all-time list in win percentage (.607), Pascual had two 20-plus win seasons and was a four-time All-Star.

Jim Perry, P (1963-72)
The AL Cy Young Award winner in ;70, Perry had two 20-plus win seasons and is fourth on the Twins all-time list in wins (128) and shutouts (17).

Brad Radke, P (1995-2006)
A newcomer to the ballot this year, Radke ranks third on the club's all-time list in wins (148), innings pitched (2,451.0) and strikeouts (,1467) and second in starts (377). He also won 10 or more games in 10 different seasons for the Twins.

Jeff Reardon, P (1987-89)
The closer on the '87 World Series championship team, Reardon ranks fifth on the Twins all-time list in saves (104) and recorded 30-plus saves in three seasons with the club.

Roy Smalley, INF (1976-82, 85-87)
An All-Star in '79, Smalley is one of 11 Twins to record 1,000 hits and ranks 10th on the team's all-time list in games (1,148).

Kevin Tapani, P (1989-95)
A 16-game winner in consecutive seasons from 1991-92, Tapani held a career 75-63 record in 181 games (180 starts) for Minnesota.

Cesar Tovar, OF (1965-72)
The AL leader in triples (13) in 1970, Tovar ranks third on the Twins all-time stolen bases list (186).

Al Worthington, P (1964-69)
Sixth on the Twins all-time list in saves (88), Worthington posted a 2.62 ERA with Minnesota.

Kelly Thesier is a reporter for This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.