Gardenhire takes exception to overturned call

Gardenhire takes exception to overturned call

CLEVELAND -- In the eighth inning of Wednesday's 6-4 win over the Indians, Twins skipper Ron Gardenhire nearly lost his cool.

With two outs, Joe Mauer hit a line drive to left, where Vinny Rottino appeared to make a sliding catch. Third-base umpire Mike Muchlinski ruled that Rottino trapped the ball, granting Mauer an RBI single. Indians manager Manny Acta pleaded his case with the umpiring crew, which eventually overturned the call and decided that Rottino made a clean catch.

At that point, Gardenhire left the dugout to state his case and engaged in a heated exchange with second-base umpire Joe West. Gardenhire retreated to the bench before things escalated.

"I know the guy that was standing out there made the call that it hit the ground, and then one of the other umpires told me that he saw it get caught," Gardenhire said. "That's as far as I'm going to go with that, because I like my money in my pocket."

The flyout meant Mauer went 1-for-4 on the night, as his average dipped to .324. The catcher sits in third in the race for the American League batting crown, behind Miguel Cabrera of the Tigers and Mike Trout of the Angels.