The clarified rule went into effect on Friday, after there was some debate early this season regarding the interpretation of the rule as part of this year's new replay rules.
"Common sense has come into play," Gardenhire said. "If a guy makes a catch and then runs 15 yards and drops the ball on the exchange, doesn't mean he didn't catch it. I talked to several umpires who said they hoped they'd change that rule."
The interpretation was discussed and agreed upon by MLB, the MLB Players Association and the World Umpires Association.
Rhett Bollinger is a reporter for MLB.com. Read his blog, Bollinger Beat, and follow him on Twitter @RhettBollinger. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.