Gardenhire loses challenge on play at first

Gardenhire loses challenge on play at first

SAN DIEGO -- Twins manager Ron Gardenhire issued an unsuccessful challenge in the seventh inning against the Padres on Tuesday night at Target Field.

With Eduardo Escobar at first base and Padres right-hander Ian Kennedy on the mound with nobody out, Aaron Hicks dropped down a sacrifice bunt down the third-base line.

Third baseman Chase Headley fielded the bunt, and threw to first to get Hicks, who was ruled out by first-base umpire Mark Wegner.

Gardenhire challenged the play but after a review, the call on the field was confirmed by replay.

"I had nothing to lose," Gardenhire said. "It looked like he came up early and was probably still on the [base] but the ball went to the top of his glove, so you just take a chance. There's nothing to lose there in the seventh by not challenging it."

Gardenhire has challenged eight plays this year with four calls getting overturned.

Escobar came around to score on a sacrifice fly from pinch-hitter Josmil Pinto to give the Twins a 4-3 lead.

Rhett Bollinger is a reporter for MLB.com. Read his blog, Bollinger Beat, and follow him on Twitter @RhettBollinger. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.