CLOSE

Now Commenting On:

{"content":["replay" ] }

Twins win replay challenge on hit-by-pitch

Twins win replay challenge on hit-by-pitch play video for Twins win replay challenge on hit-by-pitch

MINNEAPOLIS -- Twins manager Ron Gardenhire made a successful challenge in the second inning that earned his squad an extra baserunner, but the Padres were able to escape the frame without surrendering any runs.

With runners on first and third, one out and Minnesota holding a 2-0 lead, San Diego's Odrisamer Despaigne threw an errant cutter that appeared to hit Danny Santana in the right knee, but home-plate umpire Marvin Hudson ruled that the ball did not touch Santana.

More

Gardenhire challenged the play, and the call was overturned after a review that lasted two minutes, 17 seconds.

The hit-by-pitch loaded the bases, but Minnesota was unable to capitalize. Brian Dozier grounded into a fielder's-choice forceout at home, and Trevor Plouffe ended the inning with a flyout to left.

Alex M. Smith is an associate reporter for MLB.com. Follow him on Twitter @asmiff. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

Less
{"content":["replay" ] }
{"content":["replay" ] }